Life in Rural Kyrgyzstan Log in  
Kyrgyzstan|foreign policy|January 23, 2020 / 10:23 AM
Nations that the U.S. plans to impose travel ban on aren’t yet final: Trump

AKIPRESS.COM - U.S. President Donald Trump said Wednesday the U.S. would soon be imposing visa restrictions on more countries.

Seven additional nations were listed in a draft of the proposed restrictions — but the countries were notified by Homeland Security officials that they could avoid being included if they make changes before the announcement is made, according to two administration officials who spoke to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity to discuss ongoing negotiations, the Associated Press reports.

The tentative list featured Kyrgyzstan, Belarus, Eritrea, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania, according to the officials and a person familiar with the draft proposal. But several countries are believed to have taken action or demonstrated good faith efforts to comply in order to avoid inclusion, the officials said.

The steps include better border security, better sharing of identification information among nations and better travel document security, one official said.

It’s not clear how many nations will wind up on the final list, the AP reports.

All rights reserved

© AKIpress News Agency - 2001-2019.

Republication of any material is prohibited without a written agreement with AKIpress News Agency.

Any citation must be accompanied by a hyperlink to

Our address:

189 Moskovskaya st., Bishkek, the Kyrgyz Republic


Tel/Fax: +996(312)65-03-06

Follow us: